Dean and Associate Deans

The Office of the Dean

Diane Hyland
Interim Dean
Senior Associate Dean for Faculty and Staff

Lehigh University College of Arts and Sciences - Diane Hyland, Senior Associate Dean for Faculty and StaffDiane Hyland is professor of psychology and formerly served as chair of the department. She also serves as director of the Center for Social Research. A member of the faculty for nearly 30 years, Diane has taught courses on topics including child development, adult development and aging, psychology of gender, and social research. In 1991, she received the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindbach Award for Distinguished Teaching by a senior member of the faculty and the Panhellenic Council Faculty Award in 1991.

Over the course of her career at Lehigh, Diane has actively published and frequently presented at professional conferences. Outside the classroom, Diane has been an energetic member of the university community, serving as a mentor to junior faculty and taking leadership roles on committees that provide the experience perfectly suited to her new role. She has played dynamic roles while serving on committees such as the Faculty Personnel Policy Review, University Institutional Review Board, University Task Force on Faculty Diversity, University Faculty Steering Committee, University Personnel Committee, and the University’s Presidential Search Committee. In late 2009, she was asked by President Gast to serve on the search committee for the newly established presidential chair in health in the social sciences or humanities.


Jackie Krasas
Associate Dean of Interdisciplinary Programs and International Initiatives

Lehigh University College of Arts and Sciences - Jackie Krasas, Associate Dean of Interdisciplinary Programs and International InitiativesJackie Krasas is associate professor of sociology and anthropology. She directed the women, gender, and sexuality Studies (WGSS) program from 2005 until 2014. As director of WGSS she expanded the program from an undergraduate minor in 2005 to one that now includes both an undergraduate major and an interdisciplinary graduate certificate. Her scholarship focuses on gender, race and employment inequality, masculinities, work and family, sexual harassment, and non-standard work. Her book, Temps: The Many Faces of the Changing Workplace, analyzes the rise in temporary employment and the experience of temporary workers in terms of race, gender, power, and identity. Prof. Krasas is co-principle investigator and part of the leadership team for the Lehigh ADVANCE grant, “Building Community Beyond Academic Departments.” Her scholarship from the grant focuses on gender and interdisciplinary work in academia, particularly in STEM fields. Krasas received her Ph.D. in sociology with a specialty in gender studies from the University of Southern California. She is also a 1987 graduate of Lehigh University.

Dominic Packer
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs

Dominic Packer is associate professor of psychology.  He served as Director of Graduate Studies in Psychology at Lehigh University from 2013-2016, and continues to direct the Group Processes Laboratory.  Broadly speaking, Dominic’s research team investigates when and why people are willing to express dissenting perspectives, to collaborate and cooperate with members of other groups, and to do other good things.  His research has been supported by funding from the National Science Foundation, the Templeton Foundation, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, and Defence Research and Development Canada.  He publishes regularly in top journals and other outlets, and has served as associate editor at the British Journal of Social Psychology, the Journal of Applied Social Psychology, and Group Processes and Intergroup Relations.  Dominic received his BA from McGill University, his PhD from the University of Toronto, and held a post-doctoral position at The Ohio State University before joining the faculty at Lehigh University in 2009.

Susan Szczepanski
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs

Susan Szczepanski is an associate professor in the Mathematics Department.  She received her Ph.D. from Rutgers University and held a post-doctoral position at M.I.T. before joining Lehigh.  Her scholarly interests include geometric topology, singularity theory and, more recently, applications of topological concepts to the analysis of data.  

She is actively involved in the mentoring of undergraduate students as an advisor for students majoring in Mathematics, as an advising mentor for first year students in the College of Arts and Sciences and as a content specialist and mentor to students, in the College of Education, pursuing certification by the Pennsylvania Department of Education.  She was a 2017 recipient of the College of Arts and Sciences Schuafeld Award for Advising Excellence.
As an ADVANCE chair, she served on the leadership team of the NSF funded, Lehigh ADVANCE grant targeting recruitment, retention, and advancement of women faculty in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) fields at Lehigh.  Through Lehigh’s Outreach Office, she has participated as senior personnel on two NSF-funded projects partnering Lehigh STEM faculty and graduate students with teachers in the Lehigh Valley area school districts and encouraging students to pursue interests in the STEM fields.  
At Lehigh, she chaired the CAS Policy Committee and the Graduate and Research Committee, and served on the Faculty Steering Committee, the Faculty Personnel Committee, the Faculty Committee on Student Life and the Faculty Compensation Committee.  She served as Lehigh University Ombudsperson for four years, 2014 through 2018.